First look at the G-7 "family" photo: Joe Biden, Boris Johnson, Angela Merkel and other top leaders mark a new era of diplomacy.
in , ,

CryCry OMGOMG WTHWTH AngryAngry LOLLOL LoveLove CuteCute

G-7 summit: Here’s a quick guide to everything you need to know

World leaders are gathering in the Cornish resort of Carbis Bay, for face-to-face meetings at the summit of G7 nations.

Among them are Chancellor Angela Merkel of Germany, and President Biden, who is making his first foreign visit since taking office.

What is the G7 Summit? 

The Group of Seven – or G7 for short – is an organisation made up of the world’s seven richest nations: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.  

Every year, since the 1970s, the leaders of these countries have gathered to discuss the most pressing global issues. This year marks the 47th meeting of the G7 and it is the first time in two years that the G7 leaders have met after last year’s meeting was cancelled due to COVID.  

At the end of the summit, a statement of intent is issued, outlining what has been agreed.


Saburo Okita, Pierre Elliot Trudeau, Helmut Schmidt, Valéry Giscard D’Estaing, Francesco Cossiga, Jimmy Carter, Margaret Thatcher and Roy Jenkins attend the 1980 G7 Summit on June 22, 1980, San Giorgio Island, Venice, Italy. 

Where is the G7? 

Each member country takes it in turn to host the two-day G7 summit and take on the year-long Presidency. This year the UK is hosting the G7 summit and holds the Presidency. The key meeting with the G7 leaders will take place from June 11th to June 13th in Carbis Bay, Cornwall, UK. 

What will happen at the 2021 G7 summit?  

This G7 meeting is a crucial moment for world leaders to unite in building back better from COVID for a fairer world. Boris Johnson is expected to use this moment to talk about global recovery from coronavirus and tackling climate change. 

US President Joe Biden (L) and US First Lady Jill Biden disembark from Air Force One on their arrival at Royal Air Force Mildenhall, England on June 9, 2021, ahead of the three-day G-7 Summit.

Who will be at the G7? 

The heads of the governments expected to be flying into the UK to attend the G7 are: 

  • Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Canada  
  • President Emmanuel Macron, France 
  • Chancellor Angela Merkel, Germany 
  • Prime Minister Mario Draghi, Italy 
  • Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga, Japan 
  • Prime Minister Boris Johnson, UK 
  • President Joe Biden, USA  

This will be the first G7 summit to take place since Joe Biden was elected US president. 

COVID and Climate Change: What are the key issues for this year’s G7? 

The UK government has announced that the focus for this year’s G7 summit will be on global trade, strengthening global response for any future pandemics and tackling climate change. 

Boris Johnson has said he will ask G7 leaders to “build back better” from the coronavirus pandemic and “create a greener, more prosperous future”.  

See the 1st trailer for the ‘Gossip Girl’ reboot premiering July 8

These are the only father-son pairs to receive Medals of Honor