Student Academy Award Contest

The Student Academy Awards is a national student film competition conducted by the Academy and the Academy Foundation. Each year over 500 college and university film students from all over the United States compete for awards and cash grants, with films being judged in four categories: Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Alternative.

Through the Student Academy Awards, the Academy recognizes and encourages this country’s most promising new filmmakers. Past winners include Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Bob Saget and Oscar winners John Lasseter and Robert Zemeckis.

The 41st Student Academy Awards Domestic deadline for entries is Tuesday, April 1, 2014, at 11:59 p.m. (PST). The deadline for Foreign entries is Friday, March 21, 2014, at 11:59 p.m. (PST). Late entries will not be accepted.


What's a year in the life of a Student Academy Award winner like? Watch video to find out!